retailHoteldiningdrinkCultureSpaceCafeBrand
ArticlesTravel
The company's face · The operator's brand screen. The line reads "Seize the future with entertainment sushi." ⓒ881 Inc.
The company's faceThe operator's brand screen. The line reads "Seize the future with entertainment sushi." ⓒ881 Inc.
Daily dining

Eight seats, fifteen courses, 4,400 yen — and eight shops in eighteen months (Osaka, omakase sushi)

2026.09.03

Fifteen courses of omakase sushi for 4,400 yen. That is one-fifth of Ginza rates, and 100 yen below the 4,500-yen average check at an ordinary Japanese sushi restaurant. An Osaka company has stamped out eight copies of this box in eighteen months, each one a counter of eight seats turned twice a night. Next target: 200 of them in five years.

1.On September 1, Sushi Koki opened on the ground floor of the Nippo Jumbo Building at 2-1-13 Higashi-Shinsaibashi, Chuo-ku, Osaka. Nigiri, house-made condiments, plated dishes and dessert are bundled into fifteen courses for 4,400 yen. Tax included; drinks are charged separately.
2.Reservation-only, two seatings a night. The first sits at 17:30 and rises at 19:30; the second runs from 20:00 to 22:00. Yasuki Oyama, who works the counter, graduated from Tsuji Culinary Institute Osaka and passed through French, Italian, pastry, bistro and Japanese kitchens before training at a three-Michelin-star restaurant. That résumé is attached to a 4,400-yen course.
Sushi and French, fused · The key visual for the new location. Nigiri on the left, a plated course on the right. ⓒ881 Inc.
Sushi and French, fusedThe key visual for the new location. Nigiri on the left, a plated course on the right. ⓒ881 Inc.
3.Eight shops share the same blueprint. The operator, 881 Inc., was incorporated only last April 17, and already runs eight locations across Tokyo and Osaka: Sushi Yamato, Sushi Kazue, Sushi Tatsuki, Sushi Koki. Every name on every sign belongs to the person standing behind that counter, and Yamato, the first one, opened in June 2024 and is now booked six months out.
A counter and nothing else · One of the company's shops. No dining room, no private rooms, just seats running along the prep line. ⓒ881 Inc.
A counter and nothing elseOne of the company's shops. No dining room, no private rooms, just seats running along the prep line. ⓒ881 Inc.
4.The space is plain. Sushi Tatsuki, opened late last year in Kita-Shinchi, has eight counter seats, and the other shops look to hold around ten. No floor, no rooms, no waiting area. The rice cooker sits out on the prep line, and guests sit on the far side of it.
5.The course lays French tools on top of sushi. A spoonful of white foam goes onto a salmon nigiri, with a single red berry pressed into it. The foam collapses on the tongue first, and the oil and the warmth of the rice arrive behind it. A plated dish takes lightly cooked bonito over a red berry sauce, garnished with grapes and young leaves.
Nigiri under foam · A tool from the French kitchen set straight onto sushi. ⓒ881 Inc.
Nigiri under foamA tool from the French kitchen set straight onto sushi. ⓒ881 Inc.
6.The last dish at Tatsuki is ramen. Broth is pulled from the bones and trimmings left over from the day's fish, and it comes with free refills. The signature is not an expensive ingredient either but sakasa-inari, an inverted inari sushi that chef Tatsuki Nishi says he learned from his grandmother. Cheap ingredients open and close the course.
One of the plated dishes · Plates like this sit between the nigiri to fill out the fifteen courses. ⓒ881 Inc.
One of the plated dishesPlates like this sit between the nigiri to fill out the fifteen courses. ⓒ881 Inc.
7.Where the price sits is the whole business. The average check at a Japanese sushi restaurant is 4,500 yen. Omakase in Ginza and Akasaka runs 20,000 to 30,000 yen, and even a young chef's own shop starts around 8,800. So 4,400 yen is not the bottom of the omakase range; it is the price of dinner at the neighborhood sushi place.
값을 어디에 맞췄나 1인 · 엔 · 음료 별도 · 맨 위가 이번에 연 가게 15품 코스 4,400 스시집 평균 객단가 4,500 젊은 셰프 오마카세 8,800 긴자·아카사카 20,000~30,000 · 막대는 상단 기준 객단가 4,500엔은 니기리와 사시미를 파는 일반 스시집의 업계 평균이다 긴자·아카사카는 오마카세 코스 시세이며 음료를 더하면 더 올라간다
Where the price sitsOmakase was not discounted. It was moved to the price of an ordinary dinner. ⓒCash and Space
8.Price is not the only thing that keeps people out of omakase. Not knowing what the bill will be. Not feeling able to ask what is coming. Feeling you should have dressed for it. Fix the price in advance and take payment at booking, and all three disappear at once. That is how first-timers end up at the counter.
Same blueprint, different sign · Another shop from the same company, built to the same rule: one counter, about ten seats. ⓒ881 Inc.
Same blueprint, different signAnother shop from the same company, built to the same rule: one counter, about ten seats. ⓒ881 Inc.
9.Waiting lists can also be manufactured. Last December the company gave away 100 seats across 50 parties at Sushi Kazue in Shinsaibashi. Entry meant commenting "881" on an Instagram post, and winners were announced on a livestream. Kazue's chef, Kazue Toyoshima, is a woman sushi artisan listed in the Michelin guide five years running.
A hundred seats given away · Commenting "881" on an Instagram post was the whole entry. ⓒ881 Inc.
A hundred seats given awayCommenting "881" on an Instagram post was the whole entry. ⓒ881 Inc.
10.Eight seats filled twice a day is sixteen people, or 416 over a 26-day month. Multiply by 4,400 yen and you get 1.83 million yen a month. Seats and seatings are both fixed, so there is no ceiling above that. The industry's standard model shop, 25 tsubo and 18 seats, does 4.21 million a month. On revenue alone this is less than half of it.
여덟 자리가 한 달에 버는 것 만석 기준 · 만 엔 · 음료 매출 제외 · 아래 셋은 추정 코스 매출 4,400엔 × 8석 × 2부 × 26일 = 183 재료비 82 · 원가율 45% 임차료 18 · 10평 기준 그 밖의 경비 22 · 수도광열·결제수수료 등 남는 것 61 · 주인이 직접 쥐어 인건비가 없을 때 사람을 쓰면 인건비율 23%가 붙어 남는 돈이 20만 엔 아래로 내려간다
Not much room leftNot because revenue is small, but because after every deduction only one person's income remains. ⓒCash and Space
11.The industry averages 45% food cost, 23% labor, and rent at 8-10% of sales. Take 820,000 yen of ingredients, 180,000 of rent and 220,000 of other expenses out of 1.83 million and 610,000 is left (estimated). But that 610,000 is the number when the owner works the counter himself. Hire one person and it falls by more than half.
One person, and that is all · An owner behind the counter costs nothing in wages. Hire someone and half the profit goes. ⓒ881 Inc.
One person, and that is allAn owner behind the counter costs nothing in wages. Hire someone and half the profit goes. ⓒ881 Inc.
12.So where does the money come from? Not the sushi. Fifteen courses at 4,400 yen caps ingredients at a little over 2,000 yen, about 130 yen a course, which is why salmon and lean tuna show up so often in the photos. Alcohol runs about 30% cost, so 1,500 yen a head adds more than 400,000 yen a month. The company's promise of "10 million yen a year for the owner" comes from the glass, not the plate.
Entertainment sushi · The company's own term. The ingredient is carried out to the guest before it is cooked. ⓒ881 Inc.
Entertainment sushiThe company's own term. The ingredient is carried out to the guest before it is cooked. ⓒ881 Inc.
13.Japan has made sushi cheap twice already. Once with the conveyor belt, a market that grew to 831.8 billion yen across 4,270 shops. Once with standing sushi bars, which reached the Michelin listings. What 881 went after the third time is neither ingredient nor technique but the time a guest occupies a seat. Two hours, cut clean, twice, and the day is done.
What this street costs · The Shinsaibashi-suji arcade, a few minutes' walk from the new shop. Space here runs 14,000 yen per tsubo even above the ground floor. ⓒSoramimi · CC BY-SA 4.0
What this street costsThe Shinsaibashi-suji arcade, a few minutes' walk from the new shop. Space here runs 14,000 yen per tsubo even above the ground floor. ⓒSoramimi · CC BY-SA 4.0
14.And yet what this company sells is not sushi. A corporation capitalized at 3.5 million yen runs a separate franchise recruitment page advertising a one-month minimum to open, 200 shops in five years, and 10 million yen a year for the owner. Opening a sushi restaurant normally costs 30 million yen and takes six years to pay back. The eight-seat counter is a box designed to shrink those numbers, and the actual product is the owner's seat inside it.
The photo that recruits franchisees · The top of the franchise page. What is for sale here is not sushi but a way to open a shop. ⓒ881 Inc.
The photo that recruits franchiseesThe top of the franchise page. What is for sale here is not sushi but a way to open a shop. ⓒ881 Inc.
15.What holds this box up is neither price nor technique but a supply of people. Since Tokyo Sushi Academy opened in 2002, several schools have appeared that put someone behind a counter in two to six months, and the premise of a twenty-year apprenticeship has already collapsed. Taking those graduates, putting their names on the sign and selling them the box is 881's business.
16.What collapsed in Korea was not the price but the middle of the range. Sushi restaurants charging 80,000 won at lunch and 150,000 at dinner closed one after another, and the reason was that the same money buys a trip to Japan. A 4,400-yen course takes its guests from the other side of that calculation. Setting the same price in Korea runs into people before it runs into ingredients. There is no school here that puts someone behind a counter in two months, and no company that hands that person its signboard. An eight-seat counter barely returns one person's income when the owner works it himself, and the moment that person has to be hired, the arithmetic never starts.
Daily Dining #028 · 2026.09.03 · Cash and Space
Sources · 881 Inc. press release, "Grand opening September 1 in Shinsaibashi, Osaka: trained at a three-Michelin-star restaurant, sushi and French fused, fifteen courses for 4,400 yen" (2026.08.31) · 881 Inc. press release, "Shinsaibashi, Osaka: sushi from a woman artisan listed in Michelin five years running, for zero yen?" (2025.12) · PR Desse, "Sushi Tatsuki opens in Kita-Shinchi with a full fifteen-course sushi menu at an astonishing 4,400 yen, led by its sakasa-inari" · Osaka Tsushin, "Sushi Koki, fusing French and sushi, opens September 1 in Shinsaibashi with fifteen courses at 4,400 yen" · 881 Inc. company profile (sushi881.com) · 881 franchise recruitment page (sushi881fc.jp) · Inshokuten Kaigyo Portal, "The sushi restaurant business model: startup capital, margins, food cost" · OSUSHI STUDIO, "Omakase sushi explained: structure, going rates, flow" (2026 edition) · Inshokuten.com Osaka retail rent data · Tokyo Sushi Academy course listings · Sisa Journal, "Why mid-tier omakase restaurants keep closing"
The 1.83 million yen monthly figure is a ceiling, multiplying the course price by eight seats, two seatings and 26 days at full occupancy; actual booking rates are not disclosed. Food cost of 45%, rent of 180,000 yen, other expenses of 220,000 yen and beverage cost of 30% are estimates drawn from industry benchmarks. Sushi Koki has not disclosed its seat count or floor area, so the calculation uses the eight counter seats at the company's Sushi Tatsuki. Two of the interior photos are other shops from the same company rather than Sushi Koki, and the arcade photo shows the surrounding Higashi-Shinsaibashi district, not the restaurant.