retailHoteldiningdrinkCultureSpaceCafeBrand
ArticlesTravel
A sink under the sign · The first-floor store at Sapporo Tokyu Department Store. Company rendering. ⓒThe Body Shop Japan
A sink under the signThe first-floor store at Sapporo Tokyu Department Store. Company rendering. ⓒThe Body Shop Japan
Daily retail

It left the department store growing 30 percent in six years for a first floor 300 metres away (Sapporo, Retail)

2026.09.09

Today The Body Shop opened a store on the first floor of Sapporo Tokyu Department Store. It is the brand's only remaining store in Hokkaido, and until nine days ago it sat on the third floor of Daimaru Sapporo, a five minute walk away. The building it left booked 88.2 billion yen last year and has grown about 30 percent in six years, while the one it entered has handed five upper floors to specialty tenants and kept only the four lower ones as a department store. The brand gave up the third floor of a building that is doing well and took the first floor of a building that shrank. The fixtures are built from aluminium stripped out of retired Shinkansen cars.

1.The opening date is 9 September 2026 and the address is 1F Sapporo Tokyu Department Store, Kita 4-jo Nishi 2-chome, Chuo-ku, Sapporo. Doors open at 10am and close at 8pm, following the department store's own hours. This is the only store the brand has in Hokkaido. The Daimaru Sapporo unit on the third floor closed on 31 August. Floor area is not disclosed.
2.Only one thing actually changed in this move, and that was the floor. The third floor at Daimaru was womenswear. The first floor at Tokyu is the beauty hall, where Chanel, Dior and Shiseido stand in a row. A brand selling body care and skincare pulled its counter out of the clothing floor and set it down in the cosmetics line.
The department store on the south side of the station · Sapporo Tokyu Department Store. ⓒRJD · CC BY 3.0
The department store on the south side of the stationSapporo Tokyu Department Store. ⓒRJD · CC BY 3.0
3.Almost every fixture is built from something that was used before. Reclaimed timber pulled from demolition sites, recycled plastic that was headed for disposal, FSC certified wood. Aluminium from scrapped Tokaido Shinkansen cars goes into part of the display units and into the spatulas customers use to scoop cream. A sink sits in the middle of the floor with two taps on it. A place to wash your hands, wedged between one counter and the next.
4.The aluminium comes from the 700 series. It ran the Tokaido line from 1999 and was retired in March 2020. JR Central cuts the cars into 100mm chips, screens out impurities with vibrating sieves, magnetic separators and human eyes, then melts down what is left. Producing aluminium this way takes 3 percent of the energy that new metal needs. When the Osaka store opened in July, the brand released a pouch made from material of the same family. Printed on the label on the back: the car series.
Retired in 2020 · The 700 series on the Tokaido Shinkansen. ⓒPeterW1950 · CC0
Retired in 2020The 700 series on the Tokaido Shinkansen. ⓒPeterW1950 · CC0
5.That is where the press release stops, and the expensive part of this store lies somewhere else. Daimaru Sapporo sold 88.253 billion yen in the year to February 2025, up 16.9 percent. It has grown more than 30 percent in six years and says it will clear 100 billion yen in 2028, its 25th anniversary. The brand walked out of the fastest growing department store in Hokkaido.
The one it left · Daimaru Sapporo. ⓒBraveheart · CC BY-SA 4.0
The one it leftDaimaru Sapporo. ⓒBraveheart · CC BY-SA 4.0
6.The building it walked into is a different story. Sapporo Tokyu Department Store opened in 1973 and was gutted in 2023, its fiftieth year. What stayed as department store was floors one to four. Floors five and six went to Bic Camera, the eighth to Hands, the ninth to a Bandai Namco arcade. The renovation was meant to pull an audience skewed to people over 60 back down the age range, aiming at double the footfall and 1.5 times the sales.
The one it entered · Sapporo Tokyu Department Store. The 2023 renovation handed everything above the fifth floor to specialty tenants. ⓒJ o · CC BY-SA 3.0
The one it enteredSapporo Tokyu Department Store. The 2023 renovation handed everything above the fifth floor to specialty tenants. ⓒJ o · CC BY-SA 3.0
7.Someone standing on the third floor of a department store came to buy clothes. The first floor beauty hall is the strip everyone crosses between the basement food hall and the street entrance. Body wash and hand balm are not things people set out to buy that morning. They get picked up by someone who caught the smell walking past, so footfall converts straight into sales. A poor spot on the first floor beats a good one on the third.
Footfall sets the price · Outside the north exit of JR Sapporo Station. ⓒMister0124 · CC BY-SA 4.0
Footfall sets the priceOutside the north exit of JR Sapporo Station. ⓒMister0124 · CC BY-SA 4.0
8.The sink in the middle of the floor comes out of the same logic. You smell something, rub it into the back of your hand, then wash the slick off. Water runs, the scent goes, and the person turns back toward the shelves. One demo station buys a few extra minutes of dwell time, and on a beauty floor a few minutes is the distance to the till.
9.The two autumn lines that reached Sapporo ahead of the rest of the country are priced at 2,200 yen for a 250mL bath and shower gel, 4,180 yen for a 200mL whipped body butter, 1,540 yen for a 30mL hand balm, 3,080 yen for a 100mL fragrance mist and 4,840 yen for a 50mL eau de toilette. Roughly 15,000 to 46,000 Korean won. On a first floor beauty hall, that is the bottom shelf.
Two lines, ahead of the rest of the country · The autumn body care range, on early sale at the Sapporo store. ⓒThe Body Shop Japan
Two lines, ahead of the rest of the countryThe autumn body care range, on early sale at the Sapporo store. ⓒThe Body Shop Japan
10.The opening gift requires a purchase of 7,700 yen or more. That threshold sits tight against the price list. A body butter plus a shower gel comes to 6,380 yen and falls short. Add a hand balm and it reaches 7,920 yen and clears. The number was picked to make people carry three items to the till. The gift is a floral pouch in two patterns.
두 개로는 못 넘고 세 개면 넘는다 개점 증정 조건 7,700엔 · 세금 포함 가격 7,700엔 바디버터 200mL 4,180 + 샤워젤 250mL 6,380 + 핸드밤 30mL 7,920 220엔이 모자라 한 개를 더 집는 구조 미스트 100mL 3,080엔, 오드투알레트 50mL 4,840엔은 한 개만으로도 문턱에 닿지 않는다. ※ 가격은 회사가 공개한 세금 포함 표시가격이며, 조합 예시는 이 글에서 만든 것이다.
The arithmetic of a thresholdHow the gift condition sits against product prices.
11.So how much does one store sell? The answer survives in an old set of accounts. Aeon Forest, which ran the Japanese business for 30 years, booked 6.619 billion yen in the year to February 2019. With roughly 120 stores that year, one store sold about 55 million yen. That is 4.6 million yen a month, 150,000 yen a day. Put the average basket at 4,000 yen and 38 people cross the till daily. Turn those 38 into 7,700 yen customers and the same floor area nearly doubles its revenue.
12.The brand itself started in Brighton, England in 1976, when Anita Roddick opened with 25 products and a refillable bottle. It has changed hands four times since, and the price kept falling. L'Oréal paid 652.3 million pounds in 2006, Natura &Co paid 880 million in 2017, Aurelius paid 207 million in November 2023. The last of those owners lost its bank credit within four months and put the UK company into administration in February 2024.
Where it started in 1976 · A shopping lane in The Lanes, Brighton. ⓒHassocks5489 · CC0
Where it started in 1976A shopping lane in The Lanes, Brighton. ⓒHassocks5489 · CC0
네 번 팔리는 동안 값이 3분의 1로 거래 금액 · 단위 백만 파운드 시점 인수자 금액 2006 로레알 652 2017 나투라앤코 880 2023.11 아우렐리우스 207 2024.09 아우레아 비공개 · 법정관리 자산 인수 법정관리 기간에 영국 매장 85곳이 닫혀 113곳이 남았다 채권자에게 남은 빚은 2억 7,600만 파운드였고, 매장 직원 500명과 본사 270명이 회사를 떠났다. ※ 2017년 거래는 10억 유로를 파운드로 옮긴 값이다. 막대 길이는 금액 비율을 나타낸다.
The order of the salesDeal values since 2006.
13.Japan stood one step outside that storm. In 1990 Aeon Forest, a subsidiary of Aeon, signed a master franchise and opened the Omotesando store in Jingumae, Tokyo. When the 30 year contract ran out in October 2020, Aeon sold its entire stake to the British parent. Store numbers fell from about 160 in 2015 to 103 by February 2020. The Sapporo move belongs to that same shrinking. Leave one store in a prefecture, and put that one on the floor with the most traffic.
The face it wears on a street · The store on Yonge Street, Toronto. ⓒNumark 2002 · CC BY-SA 3.0
The face it wears on a streetThe store on Yonge Street, Toronto. ⓒNumark 2002 · CC BY-SA 3.0
14.The brand is now run by Auréa Group, which bought the assets out of administration on 6 September 2024. Mike Jatania took the chair and Charles Denton, formerly chief executive of Molton Brown, took the top job. Denton left after a year and Jatania added the role to his own. The head of the Japanese company is Mitesh Jatania. An investor family sitting in the operating seats is carrying the brand through its fiftieth anniversary, and in July it opened a second Osaka store in Umeda, putting two units inside one catchment.
The same format elsewhere · The LUCUA Osaka store, opened in July. ⓒThe Body Shop Japan
The same format elsewhereThe LUCUA Osaka store, opened in July. ⓒThe Body Shop Japan
15.Vacating the clothing floor of a growing department store for the beauty floor of another one 300 metres away is what happened today, and the number underneath that decision is an old average of 55 million yen per store per year. Revenue like that does not win a good floor by asking, so changing floors meant changing buildings. In Korea the fixtures would stop you before the floor does. A concession's fixtures pass the department store's own design review, finishes are asked for non-combustible or semi-non-combustible test certificates, and timber pulled off a demolition site needs fresh testing with every batch that arrives. Budget a store of recycled materials as cheap because the material is cheap, and the quote will not agree. The material is the cheap part. The expensive part is the paper saying it may come through the door.
Daily Retail #034 · 2026.09.09
Sources: The Body Shop Japan press releases (PR TIMES, 2026.9.4 and 2026.7.10), Ryutsuu News (2026.9.8 and 2026.6.30 on the Aeon share transfer), Shogyo Shisetsu News (2026.9 on the Sapporo relocation, 2026.7 on LUCUA ile), WWDJAPAN (Shinjuku circular store, Aeon sale), Senken Shimbun (2023.4.19, Tokyu Sapporo renovation), Nihon Keizai Shimbun (Daimaru Sapporo sales), Kanpo Kessan Database (Aeon Forest, year to February 2019), ALEXIS Aluken (recycled Shinkansen aluminium), Retail Dive, Retail TouchPoints, Retail Insight Network and Cosmetics Business (the Auréa acquisition and the administration), Wikipedia The Body Shop (ownership history).
Floor area and the lease or commission terms are not disclosed. The figure of 55 million yen per store per year divides the revenue for the year to February 2019 by an estimated store count for that year and is not a company figure. The 4,000 yen average basket and the gift threshold combinations are calculated here from the published price list. Sterling amounts follow the figures reported at the time of each deal.